Voiceless

I have been more or less unable to speak last 4 days now. All I can do is make a whisper even though it feels in my throat like I was shouting as hard as I can.

I have had time to think, then. And I have realized how tremendous role does our voice have in our lives. I have discovered plenty of situations where I should’ve been able to use my voice; in other words speak. Situations that haven’t mattered before, have become huge touchstones.

Just imagine:

  • getting into your bus to be able to travel to work. Yeah.
  • going to a café to have a latte. Yeah.
  • seeing your small kid climbing on the table and not realizing she’s on the edge… yeah. (I better have quick reflexes, right?)
  • singing along your favorite music. Yeah. This part totally sucks.

I started to think that the voice is something very important to all of us. Not just for some gavindegraws, but all of us. It’s the one tool we keep giving from ourselves to others.

What do we give?

Our thoughts, our feelings, our support, advices, jokes, warnings… All that we are.

Voice – or better said – the ability to speak and share thoughts is one of the things that make us humans. Make us who we really are. Make us connect to others.

Thank god there’s Twitter, Facebook, text messages, letters and all that stuff. I would have felt pretty devastated otherwise.

I have never before considered voice that important. Well, surely it’s one of the first things about us that others can see (or hear), gives the image of ourselves, but it has been more like a given to me that we have a voice.

That I can speak.

I have thought that I’m not talking that much usually, but being totally unable to communicate with others is just horrible. I have learned that I *do* talk pretty much. In situations I haven’t concidered as talking in the first place.

When all I can do is nod or shake my head, it kinda restricts my ability to have control over my life.

Doesn’t the Bible tell us that God created the world by speaking? “Let there be light”, he said, right?

In a way I agree. Speaking out is the (well, not the only) way making things to happen. A couple of days ago there was this “Ask Me Anything” -thing on Reddit with (you might guess) mr Gavin DeGraw and I kinda connect this to the same thing. He didn’t answer any of my questions, though, but if I hadn’t made any, I wouldn’t even had a chance for it. I needed to “speak out” to participate. I’m glad I didn’t have to do it by Skype or anything! Ha!

If you go to a café, you need to “speak out” – they will have hard time trying to understand what you want otherwise.

Language, words, voice.

I guess that’s my holy trinity.

But, does writing the words do the trick, too? I love writing, but using voice brings life to the words. Brings the whole new aspect or dimension to them. Or using only your voice, as when singing without any words, can relay so much feelings.

Oh! Just got it! See:

  • WORDS: information
  • VOICE: feelings

When you know how to use your voice, you can magnetically charm others, using your own feelings, the depths of your soul, your whole being; others – who are able to feel as well – cannot be other than charmed.

I don’t know. Just playing with the thought. What do you think?

As a wrap up I think that as it is with every really meaningful thing in life, it is with voice as well: you never know how much you appericiate it before you lose it.

Take care of your voices!

3 thoughts on “Voiceless

  1. I only lost my voice once, when I was in College. As luck would have it, I had to take part in a debate against students from another university.I remember desperately sucking sweets before I was due to speak, to maximise the strength of my voice. The podium had no microphone. For the first 30 seconds or so my voice was okay, then it collapsed to a croak. I remember seeing the faces of the audience; bafflement giving way to sympathy. I croaked the rest of my speech as loud as I could and then returned to my seat, exhausted and rather embarrassed. My team still won, though.

    1. Oh, that sucks. Not the winning, though. But losing the voice, that’s so annoying. And in the situation like that… maybe you got some points from being spunky and going through it no matter what?

      1. I think I possibly did. Like I said, it was the only time I ever lost my voice. But (like the one day in my life when I had a bad back, and had to make a long journey to Frankfurt) it taught me how much we take certain ordinary things for granted, and how lost we would be without them. I’m very glad to have my voice now!

What do you think?

