My late-halloween party (Finnish style)

You know, we don’t actually have this holiday in Finland. The thing that is traditional here is to go to the cemetery and light up some candles on 3th Noveber. But halloween… that’s something too American thing for us. I have tried to change the situation, but it seems almost impossible to celebrate it when no-one else is doing it. Well, anyhow, this is how the whole thing went…

The planned menu

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
Pumpkin-and-cheese soup
Marinated bat wings
Brown bean and sweet corn sallad
Mozzarella-and-sundried-tomato-bread

Baked apples with butterscotch sauce

Coffee
Small spider cakes
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Sounds good, doesn’t it?

The beginning

I gave a shopping list to my husband. It was the first mistake of mine. I was the whole day on Friday at work and was happily getting ready to make some preparations when I got home. I was tired and bored but still eager to get some things ready. Oh well.

The first thing I noticed when I got home that our apples had gone bad. I swear they was just fine when I planned the menu and I thought that I could get some more from our apple tree, so no prob. I also realized that the apples on our tree wasn’t that good anymore either. Damn autumn. The snow fell couple days ago, I should’ve known. I decided to drop the baked apple -thing.

After this I opened the fridge and was shocked. There was no bat (=broiler) wings – there was only some sliced broiler meat. Damn husbands. He told me that he didn’t find any un-flavored wings so he thought the sliced meat would do the same. Yeah. You might guess what I told him. So, no bat wings either.

Oh, yes, and the pumpkin. It was small and light-weighted and I was disappointed. I even asked if it was real one – but so had my husband asked as well in the store, points for him for that. Gosh. So, the pumpkin soup would be, umm… a small one. Sigh.

I started making the spider cakes with my 2 and a half years old daughter, E. She was happy and reaaally into it. She wanted to help me with everything. She mixed the ingredients – over the table and on the floor. She wanted to taste everything – even plain flour, yummy. She wanted to do the dishes and splashed everything just wet. Oh. Thanks for the help, my dear, but mom can do the rest.

But hey, the spider cakes looked just fine to me! The decoration has been planned by E, beware Jamie Oliver! (Oh, btw, there should have been some liquorice stripes for their legs, but guess what. Yes. My husband didn’t find it from the store. Goodbye legs, then.)

At the time my menu was turning out to be quite something else as I had planned. At the moment it would have seemed more like this:

The menu (updated version)

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈
Pumpkin-and-cheese soup  A very small soup
Marinated bat wings  Sliced bat meat (perhaps marinated?)
Brown bean and sweet corn sallad
Mozzarella-and-sundried-tomato-bread

Baked apples with butterscotch sauce Something, I’ll figure that out later

Coffee
Small spider cakes (without legs)
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

The next day

I woke up with a massive headache. Oh, and had a cramp on my leg. Yup. The things that made me feel that everything was going to be just fine. And it continued with the same track. I started to make the (very small) pumpkin soup and noticed that we had no onions. No. Onions. I wasn’t sure was I going to cry or laugh at the point. When I searched the cupboard for a stock cubes I found out that the box on the shelf was – you might guess already – empty. I decided to laugh. So, a very small pumpkin soup with no onions and no stock cube. Yummy.

I tried to do some decoration around, blowed some balloons – and yes, blowed them up, really.

This was the time I decided I couldn’t cope it anymore without Gavin DeGraw. (I know, I’m addicted.) When singing along everything seemed to brighten up a bit. I decided to make some black-and-red-berry-soup for a dessert. I managed to straighten up the mess E had done with one decoration of ours. I even got the feeling that perhaps, just perhaps I could get through it. There was coming a couple of guests, so that was the reason I over reacted everything. I have this not-so-fun feature called perfectionism, so I was almost ready to call it off because the spiders didn’t have legs. I didn’t. Should I thank Gavin for that? Most likely!

Some views from our home:

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

..

Spooky, right? Sigh.

Anyway, the guests arrived and they actually liked the food – I’m guessing they were just that respectful they couldn’t tell us how bad the food really was. We played with them “the spider eclipse” that is a game planned by E (it includes darkness, a flashlight, music and dancing). It was fun, really, you should try it out!

Did I learn anything from all this? Maybe the thing I should’ve learned a long time ago: too tight plans are ought to be broken. Or that it doesn’t really mattes do the spider cakes have legs or not when the company is that great. No, no, wait! I know! That Gavin DeGraw is the answer to anything!

Or actually that I shouldn’t have too much sugar.

3 thoughts on “My late-halloween party (Finnish style)

  1. i don’t want to sound mean or evil or anything like that, but i was literally laughing out loud. but i really have to agree with the part “who cares about how well preparations went when there is good company”. that is, as long as the company doesn’t care about it.

    1. Haha, you’re not mean. I am laughing, too – now… At that point i felt just amazingly overwhelmed by the … You know.. Everything. Gosh. Besides the legless spiders tasted great 😛

What do you think?

